Scam: DSL Service Cancellation Notice

Back to posts

Every day I get spam and a few scam emails, here is one I received that looks like it’s coming from Telstra to it’s Bigpond users.

------------------------

Dear BigPond User,

Telstra BigPond is sending you this e-mail to inform you that our service to you could be suspended. This might be due to either of the following reasons:

1. You have changed your billing address.
2. You have Submitted incorrect information during bill payment process.
3. Your credit/debit card has expired.
4. You didnt update your bigpond profile.

According to above, and to ensure that your service is not interrupted, we request you to confirm and update your billing information now BY CLICKING HERE.

If you have already confirmed your billing information then please disregard this message as we are processing the changes you have made.

Regards,
Telstra
Billing Department
Thanks for your co-operation.

------------------------

There are a few pointers that this is a scam. First of all I’m not a Telstra/Bigpond user (and never have been) so that’s an obvious giveaway. But for those of you who are:

First of all check the email address it’s come from. If this isn’t from a Bigpond or Telstra email address you can ignore it.

The second thing you can do is roll your mouse over the ‘BY CLICKING HERE’ link. Don’t click on it, just roll over it. At the bottom of your screen it will show the link you will go to if you did click on it. If the first part of the link doesn’t start with http://www.bigpond.com then it’s a definate sign not to click on it. This goes for any email you are unsure of (just replace bigpond.com with the actual website address of who it is appearing to come from).

Often websites have information about how to report a scam. Bigpond are aware of this one and have a page of screenshots of various scams that target their users: http://bigpond.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/15337/kw/scam

PayPal is another website that a lot of scammers target users of. If you get an email pretending to be from PayPal you can forward it to a specific address to make them aware of it. Details are at: https://www.paypal.com/au/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=xpt/cps/securitycenter/general/GetHelpFast-outside

Back to top

Connect with us on

FeralArt on Facebook FeralArt on Twitter FeralArt on Google Plus

Latest on Twitter

Subscribe to our newsletter

See previous emails